Faculty Fellows Program

 Engaged Listening (EL) Faculty Fellows Program

The EL Fellows program helps faculty acquire and employ the tools of listening and deliberation.  If we seek to expand the range of subjects that we will tackle as an intellectual community, we need to intentionally build the structure for those conversations.  Facilitation is an acquired skill, one that can look quite different from the role of subject matter expert that faculty usually inhabit.

We will host nine fellows each semester (Fall and Spring), ending in Spring 2021.  Some of our fellows may adopt Engaged Listening as the content of their courses (examples: environmental communication, sophomore seminar in the liberal arts, intercultural rhetoric).  Other fellows may adopt Engaged Listening as the process of their courses (example: courses on Foucault, Public Finance, or Genomics might incorporate some mix of deliberative dialogue, structured debate, or public speaking).


We will open applications for the S20 EL Fellows in September. To see examples of the application questions, click here: EL-Fellows-application-questions Fall 2019

Terms of Agreement for all Fellows –  please read carefully! Each fellow will receive a salary stipend ($6000), funding to support the purchase of course materials ($500), and financial support for a visiting speaker connected to the course ($1500). In exchange, each EL Fellow will be asked to agree to the following:

  • Link one of their courses in the semester to the EL project.
  • Participate in a two-day workshop (late August or January).
  • Employ and experiment with these techniques during the semester.
  • Attend six working lunches during the semester, approximately every two weeks. Lunches will involve some mix of debriefing, troubleshooting, and public presentation.


The Fall 2019 EL Fellows were announced in April.  They are Nicolas Poppe (SPAN), Dima Ayoub (ARBC), Rebecca Tiger (SOAN), Yumna Siddiqi (ENAM), Erin Sassin (HARC), Dan Brayton (ENVS), Tracy Weston (EDST), Will Nash (AMST), and Christal Brown (DANC).

Our first faculty cohort convened in Spring 2019. Their names, departments, and courses are listed below.

  • Jonathan Miller-Lane (Education Studies): EDST 115, Education in the USA
  • Edward Vazquez (History of Art and Architecture): HARC 100, Monuments and Ideas in Western Art
  • Antonia Losano (English/ American Literature and Gender Studies): ENAM 205, Introduction to Contemporary Literary Theory
  • Ata Anzali (Religion): RELI 258, The Qur’an
  • Maggie Clinton (History): HIST 475, Imperialism and Anti-Imperialism in Asia
  • Chong-suk Han (Sociology): SOAN 376, Politics of Identity
  • Kemi Fuentes-George (Political Science): PSCI 372, Gender of International Relations
  • Martin Abel (Economics): ECON 405, Economics of Discrimination
  • Carly Thomsen (Gender, Sexuality, Feminist Studies): GSFS 289, Introduction to Queer Critique